Minerva statue at Manderson Landing

Department of Communications

350 Rose Administration Building
Box 870144
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0144
phone: (205) 348-5320

UA News Center

Let’s get the word out.

The department of communications provides consistent and clear communication to UA’s key constituencies, focusing on internal communications, media relations and safety. Our team is responsible for writing, editing, pitching and distributing stories based on news value as aligned with the four pillars of the University’s strategic plan.

Internal Communications


We provide the latest news and information to UA faculty, staff and students through the UA News Center and Inside UA internal email newsletters using video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story.

Media Relations


We provide comprehensive media relations services to the University community, working closely with state, regional and national media to publicize student and faculty research, faculty expertise and University programs.

Pitching Stories to the Media

Our priority is to identify stories with potential for national and regional coverage that will continue to elevate the academic reputation of this university. For guidance on pitching stories to the media, contact Deidre Stalnaker, director of communications, or use the Submit News form.

Media Training

Our team is available to provide professional training and assistance to units seeking to promote its faculty and staff to the media. To request media training, contact Deidre Stalnaker, director of communications.

For immediate assistance with a potential crisis issue, please contact Monica Watts, associate vice president for communications.

Experts Directory

Our online experts directory features faculty and staff with research and subject matter expertise to talk with media about current and emerging events and topics.

For Members of the Media

Direct questions to Deidre Stalnaker or Shane Dorrill. For athletics inquiries, please reach out to Athletics Communications.

Services & Requests


Resources


Staff


Deidre stalnaker

Deidre Stalnaker

Director of Communications

deidre.stalnaker@ua.edu
(205) 348-8718

Laura Braddick

Assistant Director of Communications, Content and Collaboration

laura.braddick@ua.edu
(205) 348-7661

Shane Dorrill

Shane Dorrill

Assistant Director of Communications, Media Relations and Safety Communications

shane.dorrill@ua.edu
(205) 348-8319

Stephanie Pettis.

Stephanie Pettis

Assistant Director of Communications, Strategic Initiatives and Analytics

stephanie.pettis@ua.edu
(205) 348-3782

cathy butler

Cathy Butler

Manager, Internal Communications

cathy.butler@ua.edu
(205) 348-7319

Adam Jones

Adam Jones

Communications Specialist Senior, Research

adam.jones@ua.edu
(205) 348-4328

Bryant Welbourne

Bryant Welbourne

Communications Specialist Sr.

bryant.welbourne@ua.edu
(205) 348-8325

Jennifer Brady

Jennifer Brady

Communications Specialist II

jennifer.brady@ua.edu
(205) 348-4956

stephanie plumb

Stephanie Plumb

Broadcast Communications Specialist II

stephanie.plumb@ua.edu
(205) 348-0831

Lindsey Hughey

Lindsey Hughey

Open Records & Policy Specialist

lindsey.hughey@ua.edu
(205) 348-6274