About Us

The goals and objectives of the Division of Strategic Communications are:

  • To increase awareness of the positive impact The University of Alabama has on the community, state, region and nation.
  • To strengthen the sense of community, connection and loyalty between UA and its key stakeholders.
  • To increase the value that key stakeholders place on the ways UA fulfills its mission of teaching, research and service.
  • To enhance UA’s ability to attract and sustain the resources it needs to continue to be successful.

We exist to tell UA’s story in authentic, dynamic and strategic ways.

Leadership


Ryan Bradley

Ryan Bradley

Interim Vice President for Strategic Communications
ryan.bradley@ua.edu
(205) 348-8327

Ryan Bradley is currently serving as interim Vice President, and is in his fourth year as the Associate Vice President for Marketing and Brand Strategy at the University of Alabama.

In his role at UA, Bradley leads a team of creatives responsible for telling the UA story and elevating its brand. He provides strategic oversight for the departments of photography, design and production, broadcast production, social media, marketing and branding.

Prior to joining Alabama, Bradley spent 12 years working as a marketer, communicator and administrator in intercollegiate athletics. He served as the Senior Associate Athletics Director of Strategic Communications at the University of Missouri and the Senior Associate Athletics Director for External Relations at the University of Memphis. In those roles he acted as the athletic department’s chief communications officer and spokesperson while also spearheading messaging and branding efforts for the athletic programs.

Bradley began his career with a seven-year stint at Rogers State University in his hometown of Claremore, Okla., where he ascended to the role of Director of Athletics in 2012. He received his bachelor’s degree in broadcast journalism from the University of Arkansas and also earned a master’s in education administration.


Monica Watts

Monica Watts

Associate Vice President Communications

monica.watts@ua.edu
(205) 348-5411

Austin Dare

Austin Dare

Director, Design & Production

austin.dare@ua.edu
(205) 348-6773

Kyle Fondren

Kyle Fondren

Director, Web Strategy

kyle.fondren@ua.edu
(205) 348-2440

Jimmy Hart

Jimmy Hart

Director, Marketing

jimmy.hart@ua.edu
(205) 348-3485

Janie Jenkins

Janie Jenkins

Director, Ceremonies and Events

janie.jenkins@ua.edu
(205) 348-2749

John Lassiter

John Lassiter

Director, Broadcast Production

john.lassiter@ua.edu
(205) 348-4159

Zach Riggins

Zach Riggins

Director, Photography

zach.riggins@ua.edu
(205) 348-7141

Jennifer Rodrigues

Jennifer Rodrigues

Director, Brand Strategy

jennifer.rodrigues@ua.edu
(205) 348-5768

Diedre Stalnaker

Deidre Stalnaker

Director, Communications

deidre.stalnaker@ua.edu
(205) 348-8718

Strategic Communications Staff


Christine Blakley

Christine Blakley

Presidential Communications Strategist

christine.blakley@ua.edu
(205) 348-3414

Glynda McIver

Glynda McIver

Accounting Specialist

glynda.mciver@ua.edu
(205) 348-3753

Allison Reed

Allison Reed

Office Associate II

allison.reed@ua.edu
(205) 348-5320

Amy Sides

Amy Sides

Administrative Specialist

amy.sides@ua.edu
(205) 348-5765

Kiesha Sterling

Kiesha Sterling

Office Associate Senior

kiesha.sterling@ua.edu
(205) 348-5767

Broadcast Production Staff


John Lassiter

John Lassiter

Director, Broadcast Production

john.lassiter@ua.edu
(205) 348-4159

Chris Largin

Chris Largin

Broadcast Producer/Editor

chris.largin@ua.edu
(205) 348-2850

Chase Martin

Chase Martin

Broadcast Producer/Editor

chase.martin2@ua.edu
(205) 348-8651

Kaley Martin

Kaley Martin

Broadcast Producer

kaley.martin@ua.edu
(205) 348-5190

Sean Shore

Sean Shore

Digital Production Services Specialist

sean.shore@ua.edu
(205) 348-6500

Ceremonies and Events Staff


Janie Jenkins

Janie Jenkins

Director, Ceremonies and Events

janie.jenkins@ua.edu
(205) 348-2749

Brook Shirley

Brook Shirley

University Events Coordinator

brook.shirley@ua.edu
(205) 348-2662

Communications Staff


Diedre Stalnaker

Deidre Stalnaker

Director, Communications

deidre.stalnaker@ua.edi
(205) 348-8718

Shane Dorrill

Shane Dorrill

Assistant Director, Broadcast Media and Safety Communications

shane.dorrill@ua.edu
(205) 348-8319

cathy butler

Cathy Butler-Burnette

Manager, Internal Communications

cathy.butler@ua.edu
(205) 348-7319

Adam Jones

Adam Jones

Communications Specialist Senior, Research

adam.jones@ua.edu
(205) 348-4328

Bryant Welbourne

Bryant Welbourne

Communications Specialist Sr.

bryant.welbourne@ua.edu
(205) 348-8325

stephanie plumb

Stephanie Plumb

Communications Specialist, Public Safety

stephanie.plumb@ua.edu
(205) 348-0831

Jamon Smith

Jamon Smith

Communications Specialist

jamon.smith@ua.edu
(205) 348-4956

melissa parker

Melissa Parker

Communications Specialist

melissa.parker@ua.edu
(205) 348-0825

Lindsey Hughey

Lindsey Hughey

Open Records & Policy Specialist

lindsey.hughey@ua.edu
(205) 348-6274

Design & Production Staff


Austin Dare

Austin Dare

Director, Design & Production

austin.dare@ua.edu
(205) 348-6773

Anita Sears

Anita Sears

Assistant Director

anita.sears@ua.edu
(205) 348-6541

Joshua Clayton

Joshua Clayton

Graphic Designer

joshua.clayton@ua.edu
(205) 348-0925

Savannah Clecker

Savannah Clecker

Graphic Designer

savannah.cleckler@ua.edu
(205) 348-4945

Natorio Howard

Natorio Howard

Graphic Designer Senior

natorio.howard@ua.edu
(205) 348-4372

Kevin Van Hyning

Kevin Van Hyning

Graphic Designer

kevin.vanhyning@ua.edu
(205) 348-8317

Robin Lunceford

Robin Lunceford

Internet Communications Specialist

robin.lunceford@ua.edu
(205) 348-6025

Doug Shinholster

Doug Shinholster

Graphic Designer Senior

doug.shinholster@ua.edu
(205) 348-7119

Marketing Staff


Jimmy Hart

Jimmy Hart

Director, Marketing

jimmy.hart@ua.edu
(205) 348-3485

Natalie Ledford

Natalie Ledford

Assistant Director

natalie.ledford@ua.edu
(205) 348-7725

Brandie Nabors

Brandie Nabors

Assistant Director

brandie.nabors@ua.edu
(205) 348-7143

Sheldon Clowers

Sheldon Clowers

Marketing Strategist

shelden.clowers@ua.edu
(205) 348-9062

Jane Bailey Cooper

Jane Bailey Cooper

Marketing Manager II

jane.cooper@ua.edu
(205) 348-5264

Jacob Crawford

Jacob Crawford

Marketing Strategist

jacob.crawford@ua.edu
(205) 348-5757

Chad Haynie

Chad Haynie

Marketing Manager II

chad.haynie@ua.edu
(205) 348-1973

Elisa Reed Johnson

Elisa Reed Johnson

Marketing Coordinator II, Content Marketing

elisa.reed@ua.edu
(205) 348-3581

Brinkley Pearce

Brinkley Pearce

Marketing Manager II

brinkley.pearce@ua.edu
(205) 348-8829

Frances Putman

Frances Putman

Marketing Manager II

frances.putman@ua.edu
(205) 348-8918

Brittany Richardson

Brittany Richardson

Marketing Manager II, Digital Marketing

brittany.richardson@ua.edu
(205) 348-5701

Jessica Wilkerson

Jessica Wilkerson

Marketing Strategist

jessica.wilkerson@ua.edu
(205) 348-4632

Photography Staff


Zach Riggins

Zach Riggins

Director, Photography

zach.riggins@ua.edu
(205) 348-7141

Bryan Hester

Bryan Hester

Assistant Director

bryan.hester@ua.edu
(205) 348-0853

Mary Kathryn Carpener

Mary Kathryn Carpenter

Photographer

marykathryn.carpenter@ua.edu
(205) 348-0947

Matthew Wood

Matthew Wood

Photographer

matthew.wood@ua.edu
(205) 348-9208

Social Media Staff


Jennifer Rodrigues

Jennifer Rodrigues

Director, Brand Strategy

jennifer.rodrigues@ua.edu
(205) 348-5768

Jatensia Calhoun

Jatensia Calhoun

Communications Specialist

jatensia.calhoun@ua.edu
(205) 348-3058

Olivia Ann Hodges

Olivia Ann Hodges

Social Media Specialist

olivia.ann.hodges@ua.edu
(205) 348-8322

Mallori Hudgins

Mallori Hudgins

Social Media Specialist

mallori.hudgins@ua.edu
(205) 348-4040